Players' Pages

About Us




Contact Us

Home Concerts Players Pages AboutUs Friends Gallery Links ContactUs

Next Concert    

Saturday 13th January 2018

CSO Wind

Rossini: William Tell Overture

Richard Strauss: Suite in Bb major

Mozart: Serenade for 13 Wind Instruments in Bb

Puffin Ensemble: ‘Lollipops’


Click here for Concert Tickets


The Wind and Brass section of the Colchester Symphony Orchestra will join forces once again for a splendid concert of the very best of wind ensemble music. We start with an arrangement (by oboist Rob Rogers) of Rossinis William Tell Overture which has shades of Hoffnung-esque treatment complete with accompanying tin bath! William Tell was the last of Rossini’s operas whereas our next work by Richard Strauss was written when he was only 17 years old.

This Suite for 13 wind instruments Op. 4 by Richard Strauss is fully fledged romanticism, already stamped with his trademark flavouring. It was commissioned after the success of his one movement wind serenade that we played last year.

We finish the concert with the 'Serenade for 13 wind instruments' by Mozart - this was made famous in thefilm Amadeus when Salieri analyses the piece as it unfolds in the background. Surely Strauss was inspired by this for his own choice of using the same sort of ensemble and a marvellous link is made both musically and historically.

Last year's wind and brass concert was received with much enthusiasm in St Botolphs Church in Colchester and this concert is likely to have the same appeal. Come and enjoy this rare occasion of some humour and frivolity, mixed with sublimity and poise.